You are here: Home / The Center / The Sister Scholars Advisory Council

The Sister Scholars Advisory Council

The Sister Scholars Advisory Council (SSAC) provides information and recommendations regarding the program component and research projects of the Delta Research and Educational Foundation’s  (DREF) Center for Research on African American Women.

 The program components concentrate on the following areas of interest and concerns relating to the lives and well being of African American women:

  • Economics 
  • Education
  • Health and Wellness
  • International Affairs
  • Public and Social Policy

The research projects address critical subjects and investigates matters as well as topical issues identified by the SSAC.  The Council serves as the Editorial Review Panel for PHILLIS: The Journal for Research on African American Women. The Council also serves as the Selection Committee for the Vivian A. Ware Research Fellowship and provides mentoring to the Ware Fellow.

The SSAC is comprised of African American women scholars and professionals who are authorities on the history, culture, and issues relating to women of the African diaspora. The current members include:

Ms. Sharon Barnett-Starks

Dr. Wanda G. Brockington

Dr. Elizabeth Clark-Lewis

Dr. Pearl K. Ford Dowe

Dr. Zinga Fraser

Ms. Paula J. Giddings

Dr. Keneshia Grant

Dr. Kandace G. Hinton

Ms. Nikisha Horne

Dr. Mary Howard-Hamilton

Ms. Carolyn E. Lewis

Dr. Claudia Nelson 

Dr.  Yarbrah T. Peeples

Dr. Riche Richardson

Dr. Tchicaya Robertson

Ms. Constance Y. Ross, Esq. 

Dr. Crystal Shelby-Caffey

Dr. Martha Lue Stewart

Ms. Marion White

Staff Liaison:  Antoinette M. Rogers, Director of Programs @ DREF

Document Actions