You are here: Home / News & Events / News / Congratulations to the DREF Golden Anniversary Scholarship Awardees

Congratulations to the DREF Golden Anniversary Scholarship Awardees

In honor of its 50th Anniversary occurring this year in 2017, the Delta Research and Educational Foundation (DREF) conducted a special scholarship awards program. Fifty students were selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship for the 2017-18 academic year. More than 200 applicants were received, resulting in an extremely competitive selection process. Listed below are the 50 students who have been selected to receive the DREF Golden Anniversary scholarship.

The scholarship awardees will receive an email confirmation, giving instructions on how to receive the scholarship award check; all checks will be payable to the student and university and mailed directly to the institution. Congratulations to the 50 students who have been selected to receive the DREF Golden Anniversary scholarship:

1.    Ebony Ashford, Rider University

2.    Arynn Auzout, Texas A&M University

3.    Ebony Baylor, Howard University

4.    Ameerah Battle, Howard University

5.    Morgan Biggs, University of Maryland (College Park)

6.    Kamryn Bond, Pacific Lutheran University

7.    Javon Bracy, Iliff School of Theology

8.    Khristen Charity, Temple University

9.    Emmanuel Cofie, University of Michigan

10. Ki-Jana Curtis, Southern University A&M College

11. Josiah Darnell, Pace University

12. Elon Epps,  Sewanee: The University of the South

13. Jazmyn Ferguson, University of Missouri (Columbia)

14.  Shantel Franklin, Indiana University

15.  Nia Fraser, Temple University

16.  Ashley Gray, Howard University

17.  Olivia Harris, Northeastern University

18.  Marcus Hatley, II, University of Arkansas (Fayetteville)

19.  Alexis Holman, Clark Atlanta University

20.  MacKenzie Jenkins, Southern Methodist University

21.  Kaitlyn Jones, University of Texas (Austin)

22.  Zachyre  Lane, Howard University

23.  Rhonda Lee, Florida Memorial University

24.  Franklin McCain, III, North Carolina A&T State University

25.  Jaelyn Magee, Hampton University

26.  Nia Matherson, University of Georgia (Athens)

27.  Gabrielle Miller, Indiana State University

28.  Evvan Morton, Arizona State University

29.  Kelly Page, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

30.  Faith Parker, Mercer University

31.  Sydney Parker, Morgan State University

32.  SaVannah Pasley, South Carolina State University

33.  Jordan Peace, Wake Forest University

34.  Cayman Pearsall, Cornell University

35.  Kamille Perkins, Prairie View A&M University

36.  Aiyanna Sanders, Emory University

37.   Naiya Speight-Leggett, Yale University

38.   Marquis Taylor,  Howard University

39.   Jordan Thornton, North Carolina A&T State University

40.   Charmaine Troy, Morgan State University

41.   Khanay Turner, Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University

42.  Ryan Wallace, Florida A&M University

43.   Federickia Washington, University of North Texas (Denton)

44.   Racquel Washington, Texas A&M University

45.   Ato Watson, Florida Memorial University

46.   Acneal Williams, Howard University

47.   Kwentoria Williams, Texas Women’s University

48.   Najya Williams, Harvard College

49.   Valencia Williams, Tuskegee University

50.   Arthur Wright, Bethune-Cookman College

Appreciation is extended to the Golden Anniversary Scholarship Review Committee for volunteering their time and offering their expertise to evaluate the applications.  The Committee was comprised of the following persons:  Larry G. Coleman, Ph.D., educator/training consultant;  Delores C. Cooke, retired guidance counselor; Johni Cruse Craig, Ed.D., Delta Teacher Efficacy Campaign (DTEC) project director; Geraldine E. Finch, retired guidance counselor; Aryn A. Frazier, 2017 Rhodes Scholar; Therese A. Griffin, corporate manager; Karen Jones Herbert, Esq., retired attorney; Barbara Powell Jones, retired educator;  Stephanie V. Lee, retired administrator; Lora Mayo, information technology consultant;  Mabel Lake Murray, Ed.D., educator;  and Deborah Peaks Coleman, DREF program director, coordinated the DREF Golden Anniversary Scholarship program.

Document Actions