You are here: Home / Charitable Engagement / Scholarships and Internships

Scholarship and Internship Opportunities

DREF awards scholarships and internships to student applicants entering college or continuing their academic programs. Students must meet both academic and community service requirements. The deadline for submitting applications has been extend to March 30, 2019.

2019 Internship and Scholarship Opportunities

Stephanie Tubbs Jones Summer Internship Program

The Delta Research and Educational Foundation (DREF), under the auspices of its Center for Research on African American Women (The Center), established the Stephanie Tubbs Jones Social Justice Institute. Currently the STJ Institute offers an annual summer internship for young women to work in the U.S. Congress. The STJ Internship is presented in collaboration with the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation.

The intensive nine-week summer internship program offers the opportunity for college students from across the nation to learn about the legislative process, leadership and careers in policy making. Interns work in CBC member offices, attend professional development events, and participate in leadership development projects. The program prepares young people to become informed decision makers and influential leaders who shape our world.

The Stephanie Tubbs Jones Intern will also attend select programs and events sponsored by DREF in addition to full participation in the CBCF Congressional Internship Program.

Benefits of the Internship Program

  • Internship placement in the office of a member of the U.S. Congress. 
  • A $3,000 stipend
  • Room and board at a local university
  • Interns may be eligible to receive academic credit at their college or university for participating in the program 


  • U.S. citizen or permit to work in the U.S.
  • Female student currently enrolled in college full-time, holding junior or senior status when applying for the program
  • Demonstrated interest in public service, governance, and policy-making process

Selection Process

  • Solid scholastic achievement
  • Strong writing skills
  • Community service contributions
  • Evidence of leadership skills
  • Quality of the application and, in some instances, interview performance.

Click here to apply.  Deadline for submission is March 30, 2019 

 Mentoring Keys Scholarship


The Mentoring Keys Scholarship is an opportunity offered by the Delta Research and Educational Foundation (DREF) and is generously funded by the KeyBank Foundation.  The scholarship award is open to African American students pursuing a bachelor’s degree in business related disciplines at a Historically Black College and University (HBCU).  The scholarship award of $5,000 will be made over a two-year period, beginning with the junior year of study through the senior year; applicants must apply during their sophomore year.  A major component of the Mentoring Keys Scholarship will include a Mentoring Keys Advisory Panel to assist the scholarship awardee in achieving academic success and personal development.

Criteria for Applicant

  • Recognized by institution as a sophomore in good standing
  • Major in business related field at a Historically Black College and University (HBCU)
  • Possess a minimum Grade Point Average of 3.0 on 4.0 scale
  • Have permanent residency in KeyBank service area
  • Have ongoing regular check-in with Mentoring Keys Advisory Panel during junior and senior years

Target Population

Applicant must have permanent residency (home address) in one of the following states, where KeyBank has a presence:  Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Utah, Vermont, and Washington.

Mentoring Keys Advisory Panel

The Mentoring Keys Advisory Panel will mentor the scholarship recipients in the following areas: professional development, personal development, and civic engagement.

Deadline for submission was March 21, 2019 

The Ruby Dee Legacy of Sisterhood Scholarship


The Ruby Dee Legacy of Sisterhood Scholarship is made possible by a generous donation to the Delta Research and Educational Foundation (DREF) contributed by Dr. Francene Breakfield and L. Denise Wells, longtime members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and the co-authors of An Anthology of Sisterhood. DREF is proud to announce the availability of the 2018-2019 Ruby Dee Legacy of Sisterhood Scholarship. The scholarship is administered by DREF.  Scholarships will be awarded to a current undergraduate student who best meets the requirements set forth by the benefactors along with the Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis family.


The $1,000 merit-based scholarship will be awarded annually to a deserving African American female student who is either a junior or senior collegiate or a graduate student majoring in English, Literature, Drama, Art, Music, African American Studies, Communications, Education, Fine Arts, Performing Arts, or Visual Arts. The application is now available online at and


The Scholarship Selection Committee will review and rate all applications submitted. Applicant’s references may be contacted by telephone. The Scholarship Selection Committee may also choose to interview final candidates. The scholarship recipient will be notified by June 15, 2019.


Applicants must meet the following guidelines:

  1. Currently attend an accredited college or university on a full time basis
  2. Be a female enrolled as a junior, senior or a graduate student.
  3. Must have a Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0 or above on a 4.0 scale.
  4. Must be actively pursuing a degree in a Humanities discipline ( see list above) at the undergraduate or graduate level.
  5. Demonstrated community service and leadership skills – which is clearly reflected in recommendation letters.
  6. Applicant must have permanent residency (home address) in a state that is part of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority’s Southern Region or Eastern Region.  Preference will be given to applicants from Georgia and New York.
  7. The applicant should note any special financial needs on their application form. 

All applications and supporting documents must be received by March 21, 2019.

Please advise your college registrar of this deadline for submission of transcripts and other supporting documentation.


Student must submit the completed application form and all requested documents via email to  

 Deadline for submission was March 21, 2019.

Filed under:
Document Actions